Posted: 5 years 5 months ago

The SURG Christmas party marked the close of a very busy and successful year of research and social activities for the club.

During the year the club conducted fish counts and completed the final report for the Caring for our Country - Community Action Grant, Monitoring specified marine fish species - indicators of climate change , conducted coral health surveys as part of the Health of coral communities in the Solitary Islands Marine Park project and repaired the underwater trail at North Solitary Island.

Next year should also be a busy year with continued coral health... Read more

Posted: 5 years 7 months ago

Twelve SURG members conducted a successful clean-up of the Nambucca River estuary on Sunday 22nd September. This clean-up was organised by the Nambucca Heads Local Aboriginal Land Council, the National Marine Science Centre and SURG. The estuary is part of the Gumma Indigenous Protected Area and the Land Council have been entrusted with the preservation of the river estuary and islets at the river mouth on behalf of the traditional owners, the Gumbaynggirr people. This is the 3rd year that SURG volunteers have participated in the clean-up and the good news is that the amount of debris... Read more

Posted: 5 years 10 months ago

At a recent meeting of SURG members, it was decided to refurbish the broken and missing plaques on the underwater trail at North Solitary Island. In place since 2002, the plinths have withstood over 10 years of weather and tides without moving from their original location. About half of the plaques and most of the direction pointers have survived intact but some have been broken or are missing completely. Replacement plaques and a suitable adhesive have been obtained, and it is hoped the first trip to North Solitary to prepare the plinths will be undertaken soon and the trail can be... Read more

Posted: 5 years 10 months ago

The AGM of the Solitary Islands Underwater Research Group Inc was on the 17th July at the National Marine Science Centre in Coffs Harbour. Office bearers elected for the 2013/14 year were Nicola Fraser - President, Mel Maione - Vice President, Susan Gibbs - Treasurer, Ian Shaw - Secretary, Neil Vaughan - Social Secretary, Matt Harrison - Project Officer, Steve Dalton - Expedition Officer, with Andrea Muller, Bob Edgar, Tom Mair and Lindy Powells all elected as Committee Members.

The President,Nicola Fraser, elected for her second term of office, praised past office bearers for... Read more