Species Slideshow

Achoerodus viridis
Achoerodus viridis (Gill, 1863)
Sufflamen chrysopterum
Sufflamen chrysopterum (Bloch and Schneider, 1801)
Neocirrhites armatus
Neocirrhites armatus (Castelnau, 1873)
Chelidonura inornata
Chelidonura inornata (Baba, 1949)
Jorunna funebris (Kelaart, 1858)
Sufflamen fraenatum
Sufflamen fraenatum (Latreille, 1804)
Pomacanthus imperator (Bloch, 1787)
Brachaluteres jacksonianus
Brachaluteres jacksonianus (Quoy and Gaimard, 1824)
Pseudanthias squamipinnis
Pseudanthias squamipinnis (Peters, 1855)
Aploactisoma milesii (Richardson, 1850)

About us

The Solitary Islands Underwater Research Group Inc. (SURG), is a group of dedicated volunteers conducting research in the Solitary Islands Marine Park. Formed in 1985, SURG membership is comprised of underwater naturalists, photographers and scuba divers, and our research provides habitat information and other data which may be used for the ongoing management of the Solitary Islands Marine Park. Read more about

Search form

Upcoming Events


PhD candidate Stephen Conrad will tell us about his work at Hearnes Lake.

For a bit of background: A team of researchers at SCU was...

Read more

Last year SURG members enjoyed an activity filled weekend at Hat Head so this year the club has decided to return to this popular choice. 


Read more


SURG members and local Red Rock volunteers helped to plant 14 Casuarina glauca (Swamp She-oak) seedlings that were supplied by Jaliigirr Nursery and they also transplanted Juncus and other native grasses into the previously installed coir matting.

Previously planted lomandra longifolia... Read more

SURG is in the next stage of the Estuarine project with the rehabilitation and protection of the foreshores of Corindi Creek.

With the help from several Red Rock locals and materials supplied by SURG and Reflections Holiday Parks, the group undertook the first stage of the Corindi River... Read more

"Do you like sea anemones? If so, I would love to hear from you. My name is Nicola Fraser, I'm a PhD student at Southern Cross University in Australia, and I'm really keen to learn about sea anemones in the marine aquarium trade. As part of my project, I'm interested in which... Read more

A team of SURG members explored the lower reaches of Red Rock estuary last weekend, taking advantage of the clear water and perfect weather to better understand the areas ofcritical habitat. On Friday Tom Mair and Ian Shaw dived the high tide from the shop to the boat ramp, where they... Read more

In 2002 SURG members constructed an underwater trail made up of interpretive plinths. These plinths describe the landform and animals that inhabit the area around each plinth.
The plinths quickly build up algae and coral and need to be cleaned every year. This year most were in... Read more